Minutes of the Meeting of the Executive Council at VECC

(Dec. 16, 2015)

The meeting of the Executive Council of the ICC took place on Dec. 16, 2015 (after noon) at VECC, Kolkata. This meeting was organized before the the DAE- BRNS workshop on Superconductivity and its Application in Electrical Systems on 17-18 December 2015. Following were present:

1. Dr. R. K. Bhandari (Chair)	President (IUAC)
2. Dr. T.S. Datta	Secretary (Administration) (IUAC)
3. Dr. R.G. Sharma	Vice President (IUAC)
4. Mr. Gautam Pal	Member (VECC)
5. Mr. Soumen Kar	Member (IUAC, Delhi)
6. Prof. Subhash Jacob	Member (IISc, Bangalore)
7. Prof. R. Karunanithi	Vice President (IISc. Bangalore
8. Prof. MD Atrey	Vice President (IIT. Mumbai)
9. Prof. R. Singh	Member (Hyderabad university)
10. Dr. T. Bhowmick	Member (DH Industries, Delhi)
12. Dr. Gireesan	Member (IGCAR. Kalpakkam)
13. Mr. Subimal Saha	Secretary (Technical) VECC
14. Dr. U. Bhunia	Member (VECC)
15. Dr. Sandeep Pal	Invitee (VECC)
16. Prof. V V Rao	Member (IIT. Kharagpur)
17. Dr. Nagendaran	Invitee (IGCAR. Kalpakkam)
18. Dr. N H Chakraborty	Invitee (Jadabpur University)
19. Mr. Randhir Dey	Member (VECC)

The meeting started with a welcome remark by Dr. Bhandari. Agenda items were taken up as per the item listed in the agenda circulated to the members. The minutes of the AGM held on Dec. 8, 2014 at the University of Hyderabad were presented by Dr. Datta which was approved unanimously by the members. Next a list of 31 new ICC members was presented by Dr. Datta which was approved by the members. Dr. Bhandari suggested that the list of Fellows elected last year be put on the ICC Website with each Fellow having a Fellowship No.

It was also decided that every two years we will induct five Fellows selected through nominations. Any Fellow can nominate the name of a member for the Fellowship and one Fellow can nominate only one member in a particular year. The nomination will have to be supported by at least one Fellow. The proforma for the nomination will be prepared by Prof. Subhash Jacob, Prof. R. Singh and Prof. Karunanithi.

It was informed that preparation report on ICEC 26- ICMC 2016 international conference is already discussed in the morning of National Organizing Committee meeting and all EC members were present along with Dr D K Srivastava, Director, VECC

Dr. R.G. Sharma briefed the committee about the preparation for the Vol. 41 of the IJC. This volume will contain papers presented in NSC at Hyderabad. The publication will be delayed this time because of our involvement with the preparation for ICEC/ICMC Conference. It was informed that Vol 41 (2016) will

be published by July 2016. . Dr. Sharma also pointed out that two Review Papers written by our two senior colleagues and experts in their respective areas will be included in this volume. It was informed that no funds have been received from NSC-25 for publication which is a setback. Prof. R Singh, convener of the NSC-25 told that no money is available with them.

Prof. Atrey told the committee that West Zone has decided to sponsor five students for attending the ICEC-26/ICMC 2016 by way of paying for Registration fee and travel. The application forms for this support is available with Prof. Atrey. West Zone will select the students for support from amongst the applicants.

The committee also proposed that the news about the development of a turbine based 42 l/hr helium liquefier by BARC should be put on ICC Website.

The shifting of the Head Quarter of the ICC from Jadavpur University to VECC, income tax exemption and getting PAN card were the topics discussed at length. It was felt that it should be done on a priority basis and an auditor should be consulted for the job. Mr. Gautam Pal and Mr. Subimal Saha and Mr Ranadhir Dey will be taking it up.

It was also decided that the communication regarding meeting to members and the Fellows will be sent only by e-mail and not by post. A register will be kept at every NSC for the members to update their e-mail IDs.

As decided earlier the next NSC will be organized by the East Zone and VECC will be hosting this in Feb. 2017. It was informed that preparation for this conference will be initiated immediately after ICEC 26-ICMC 2016 conference.

Dr. Gautam also proposed that bank account of East Zone and Kolkata HQ should be merged. The proposed name (Mr Gautam Pal, Mr Subimal Saha & Mr Uttam Bhunia) of authorized signatories for Bank account of Kolkata was approve by Members.

It was informed that extended term of present EC will be over by March 31, 2016. New EC will take over from April 1, 2016. If possible an EC meeting can be arranged during the the international conference in March , 2016.

At the end, Dr Bhandari thanked Director VECC and colleages from VECC for hosting this meeting at VECC. The meeting ended with a Vote of thanks to the Chair